Scotland women’s squad announced for matches versus Ireland

The Scotland women’s hockey squad has been announced for the upcoming test series against Ireland in Belfast and Banbridge, and includes five fresh faces in line to win their first cap.

The three matches will be held on 22 October at 5pm at NICS HC in Belfast; on 24 October at 7pm at Banbridge HC; and on 25 October at 12:30pm at NICS HC.

The teams last met back in August at the RABO EuroHockey Championships 2017 in Amsterdam, battling out a close 0-0 draw, so it’s set to be a close series of tough matches.

This time round it is a much-changed Scotland squad that welcomes some new faces to the group. Laura Swanson, Danie McMurray, Rachael Mack, Lorna Cruickshank, and Emily Dark are all in line to win their first cap for Scotland with the latter set to be Scotland’s youngest ever-recorded capped senior internationalist.

Scotland women’s Head Coach Gordon Shepherd said, “I have decided to use these games to give players who were not selected this summer for the World League Semi Final and European Championships an opportunity to stake a claim for a place in the squad that will be selected for warm weather training in January. The January camp will be the selection phase for the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

“A number of players were unavailable for selection and this has meant we were able to select some new players to have a look at.

“There are five new caps and I am looking forward to seeing them in this environment. One of these players is Emily Dark who will be the youngest player that I have given a cap to. She is an exciting prospect and has progressed massively this year.”

Scotland Women's Squad
Scotland take on Ireland in a three-match series. Photo – Duncan Gray

Scotland women’s squad

Lucy Camlin – (Watsonians)

Danie McMurray – (Western Wildcats)

Kareena Cuthbert (C) – (Western Wildcats)

Becky Ward (C) – (Western Wildcats)

Emily Newlands – (Watsonians)

Karin Belch – (Grove Menzieshill)

Bex Condie – (University of Birmingham)

Laura Swanson – (Edinburgh University)

Katie Robertson – (Grove Menzieshill)

Kate Holmes – (Clifton Robinsons HC)

Emily Dark – (Dundee Wanderers)

Fiona Bruce – (Wimbledon)

Rachael Mack – (Leicester)

Lucy Lanigan – (Clydesdale Western)

Sarah Jamieson – (Grove Menzieshill)

Charlotte Watson – (Dundee Wanderers)

Millie Brown – (Clydesdale Western)

Fiona Burnet – (Clydesdale Western)

Lorna Cruickshank – (Durham University)



Back to top